Upper School Faculty

Posted on
Dr. Tony Antista

Dr. Tony Antista

Teacher: Music and Choir, Upper School
tantista@stmichael.net

Doctor of Musical Arts: Voice Performance and Theater Directing
University of Arizona
Master of Music: Voice Performance
California State University, Fullerton
Bachelor of Music: Voice Performance
California State University, Fullerton


Kristin Neily Barberia

Kristin Neily Barberia

Chaplain / Teacher: Upper School Religion
kbarberia@stmichael.net

Master of Divinity: Worship and the Arts
Yale Divinity School
Berkeley Divinity School at Yale
Bachelor of Arts: English and Theatre
Kalamazoo College
Ordained Episcopal Priest


Anne Burnson

Anne Burnson

Teacher: History and Language Arts, Grade 6
aburnson@stmichael.net

Master of Arts: English
University of Arizona
Bachelor of Arts: English
University of Arizona
 
 


Amy Divijak

Amy Divijak

Teacher: History, Grade 7-8
adivijak@stmichael.net

Master of Arts: Teaching and Teacher Education
University of Arizona
Bachelor of Arts: Anthropology
University of Arizona
Teaching Certificate: Secondary Teaching Credential
Social Studies Teaching Certificate,
Middle School Endorsement, State of Arizona

SEI Endorsement


Carol Golembiewski

Carol Golembiewski

Teacher: Math, Upper School
cgolembiewski@stmichael.net

Master of Education: Educational Leadership
Northern Arizona University
Bachelor of Science: Elementary Education
Illinois State University
Arizona Teaching Certificate: Elementary, K-8
Arizona Principal Certificate: PreK-12
Arizona Structured English Immersion (SEI) Endorsement, PreK-12
Middle School Endorsement: University of Arizona


Alex Hawes

Alex Hawes

Upper School Division Director / Teacher: English, Grade 8
ahawes@stmichael.net

Master of Education: Elementary Education
University of Arizona
Master of Arts: Non-Fiction/Science Writing
Johns Hopkins University
Bachelor of Arts: Anthropology
Yale University


Rachel Hawes

Rachel Hawes

Teacher: Language Arts and English, Grade 7
rhawes@stmichael.net

Master of Arts: Library and Information Science
University of Arizona
Graduate Certificate: Digital Information Management
University of Arizona
Master of Arts in Teaching: Secondary Education
American University
Bachelor of Arts: English and Theater
McGill University
Teaching Certificate: Highly Qualified Secondary Language Arts
K-12 Library Media Specialist Endorsement, SEI Endorsement, State of Arizona


Penelope Hayward

Penelope Hayward

Teacher: Grade 5/Math, 7th Grade
phayward@stmichael.net

Bachelor of Science: Elementary Education (Minor: Behavioral Science)
University of Vermont, Burlington, VT
Arizona Teaching Certificate: Grades 1-8
Structured English Immersion (SEI ) Endorsement, K - 12


John Layer

John Layer

Teacher: Art and French, Upper School
jlayer@stmichael.net

Bachelor of Arts: Journalism and French
University of St. Thomas
Graduate Licensure Certification:
Elementary Education, World Language Education

University of St. Thomas
Arizona Teaching Certificate: Grades 1-8
World Language (French) Certification: Grades 6-12  


Brittany Panzone

Brittany Panzone

Teacher: Math, Upper School
bpanzone@stmichael.net

​Bachelor of Science: Mathematics, Option in Education
California State University Long Beach
 
 


Charlotte Richardson-Zwald

Charlotte Richardson-Zwald

Teacher: History Grade 6, Reading Specialist, Advisor
crichardson@stmichael.net

Bachelor of Arts: K-12 Education (Specialty: Exceptional Education)
Prescott College
Middle School Reading & Language Arts Highly Qualified
Arizona Teaching Certificate K-12
Structured English Immersion (SEI) Endorsement
Early Education (NNEB) - Birth - 18 years

London, UK


Hailey Sanders

Hailey Sanders

Teacher: Science, Grade 7-8
hsanders@stmichael.net

Bachelor of Science: Chemistry
Arizona State University


Matt Santucci

Matt Santucci

Teacher: Physical Education, Upper School
msantucci@stmichael.net

Coursework towards Master of Science: Elementary Education
University of New Haven
Bachelor of Arts: Psychology
University of Connecticut
 


Tracy Smith

Tracy Smith

Teacher: Science, Grades 5-6
tsmith@stmichael.net

Master of Education: Teaching and Teacher Education
University of Arizona
Bachelor of Science: Renewable Natural Resources:
Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences

University of Arizona
Teaching Certificate: K-8 Highly Qualified,
Middle School Science Highly Qualified


Julie Stafford

Julie Stafford

Teacher: Music, Band Director, Grades 5-8
jstafford@stmichael.net

Currently in progress: Doctor of Musical Arts, Teaching Artist Certificate
Arizona State University
Master of Music: Performance Pedagogy
Arizona State University
Bachelors of Arts: Instrumental Studies
University of Arizona


Sara Van Straalen

Sara Van Straalen

Teacher: Spanish, Upper School
svanstraalen@stmichael.net

Master of Arts: Education
Claremont University
Bachelor of Arts: Sociology
Pitzer College, Claremont University
Credentials: Bilingual Cross-Cultural Education
Elementary Multiple Subject Teaching K-12


Matthew Teller, Ph.D.

Matthew Teller, Ph.D.

Teacher: Language Arts, Grade 5
mteller@stmichael.net

Ph.D.: Second Language Acquisition and Teaching
University of Arizona
Master of Arts: Spanish Linguistics
University of Arizona
Bachelor of Science: Psychology
Georgetown University


Kristin Vizzini

Kristin Vizzini

Teacher: Art, Grade 5
kvizzini@stmichael.net

Bachelor of Fine Arts: Photography (Minors: Art History and Ceramics)
Tyler School of Art, Temple University
Early Childhood Education (ECE) Endorsement, Birth-Age 8